If you’ve received a speeding ticket in Arizona, you may also have questions regarding the charges. If so, continue reading our collection of FAQs in regards to traffic fines and penalties.
The Law Office of Gonzales & Poirier
is located in beautiful Flagstaff, Arizona
. Flagstaff is the crossroads for two major interstates, I-17 and I-40. It also is a travel destination for millions of people around the world who stop for a visit on their way to the Grand Canyon
, Sedona, or Las Vegas. If your coming to visit Flagstaff you most likely will arrive by car. If you arrive by car you need to make sure you follow all applicable traffic laws. If you do obtain a traffic ticket, the Law Office of Gonzales & Poirier can help you. Call 928-774-5400 and ask to speak to Tony, Matt, or Daniel. Remember traffic infractions could have serious consequences towards your right to drive.
Q&A – Arizona Traffic Offenses
Below are commonly asked questions related to traffic offenses.
Q. Do I need an attorney for a civil traffic or criminal traffic offense?
A. Traffic offense can be simple or extremely complicated and you may need an attorney to protect your rights and driving privileges. After reading this FAQ, if you feel you need an attorney immediately contact the Law Offices of Gonzales and Poirier L.L.C. to speak to one of our three experienced criminal/traffic attorney’s.
Q. I received a civil traffic citation, what can I do?
A. You can do the following:
- Attend defensive driving school
- Admit responsibility and pay the civil penalty
- Deny responsibility and request a hearing
Q. What happens if I attend defensive driving school?
A. If you eligible to attend defensive driving school, you will not have to make a court appearance if you attend the class before your scheduled court date. If you fail to attend defensive driving school before your court date you must appear in court and request permission to attend driving school.
Q. Am I eligible to take defensive driving school for my traffic ticket?
A. In order to be eligible for defensive driving course you must meet certain requirements:
- You have not attended a defensive driving course for a traffic citation within the past 24 months
- Your citation must be eligible for defensive driving course
- You may only attend for one violation only
- You must complete the course at least 7 days prior to your court date
- If you have a commercial driver’s license you are not eligible to attend Defensive Driving School
Q. I am from out of state are there additional requirements I must fulfill?
A. The above factors apply and you must also:
- Contact an Arizona Certified Defensive Driving School
- You may take an internet class
- You may return to Arizona to take the class
- You can attend a class in your home state only if it is coordinated through an Arizona Certified School
Q. Where can I attend defensive driving school for Coconino County?
A. This is a list of certified defensive driving schools accepted in Coconino County:
- Verde Valley Defensive Driving School 928-284-2190 (English)
- Roadrunner Traffic School 623-398-6590 602-441-3866 (English)
- 2 Go 2 Defensive Driving 520-449-8788 (English), 855-218-2007 (Spanish)
- U-Save…Easy 4U…Fun 2 Arizona Defensive Driving Online 888-554-7659, 877-347-5178 (English)
- TrafficSchoolOnline.com 877-805-0005, 800-800-3579 (English)
- Arizona Traffic Schools, LLC 480-857-4000 (English), 520-792-0400 (Spanish)
- EZ AZ Traffic School 877-303-3929 (English), 520-207-3200 (Spanish)
- National Traffic Safety Institute 520-547-2500 (English), 800-726-6874 (Spanish)
- Arizona-Express In-N-Out Defensive Driving Online 800-554-2718, 888-554-2718 (English)
Q. What if I have a civil traffic violation and I deny responsibility and request a hearing?
A. You will have a civil traffic trial in front of a judge. The officer who issued you a ticket will be subpoenaed to testify and give evidence against you and you may present evidence. The judge will either find you responsible or not responsible. If found responsible you will be assessed a fine and MVD will be notified of the offense.
Q. What if I admit responsibility and pay the civil penalty?
A. You can pay the listed fine and mail the payment to the court before your court date or appear on your court date and pay the fine.
Q. What laws apply to traffic offenses?
Q. What happens if I have a criminal traffic violation?
A. You must appear before a judge for your initial appearance at which time you can:
- Plead guilty, meaning you admit that you committed the crime on the ticket
- Plead not guilty, meaning you deny you committed the crime
Q. I just plead guilty for a criminal traffic violation, what are the consequences?
A. The court can impose:
- A fine
- Suspension or restriction of your driving privileges
- Community service
- Court-ordered education classes
- Notify MVD that you plead guilty to a traffic offense, which could result in points on your driving record
Q. I just plead not guilty for a criminal traffic violation, what happens next?
A. The court can either set:
- A pre-trial conference where you meet with the prosecutor and a plea may be given
- Set it for trial where the State will have to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you committed the offense
Q. What happens at a criminal traffic trial?
A. A trial is held before a judge and the prosecutor must prove beyond a reasonable doubt with evidence that you committed the crime. After the prosecutor “rests” his case the defendant has the opportunity to present evidence. After the trial the judge will find you either guilty or not guilty.
Q. What rights do I have in a criminal traffic trial?
A. You have the following rights guaranteed under the US Constitution:
- The right to a trial before a judge
- The right to be represented by an attorney at all stages of your case
- The right to confront and cross-examine witnesses as to the truthfulness of their testimony
- Right to subpoena witnesses
- The right to remain silent
- The right to be presumed innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt
- The right to an appeal
Q. What if I fail to appear at court or fail to pay my fine?
A. If you fail to appear or fail to pay a fine a judgment can be entered against you, a warrant for you arrest may be issues and the court will report your failure to appear/pay to MVD and direct your license be suspended.