Misdemeanor DUI Attorneys in Flagstaff
If you are convicted of DUI in Arizona, you can expect to face severe penalties — including mandatory jail time for a first offense — and extremely heavy fines for felony DUIs. In the state of Arizona, you can be arrested and charged with DUI if you have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. If you drive a commercial vehicle, the BAC limit is just 0.04 percent. Our law office has been assisting Flagstaff DUI offenders for years, bringing a wealth of knowledge and experience to the table. Our Flagstaff DUI attorneys are aggressive in their approach when dealing with prosecutors and if push comes to shove, we will take your case to trial; where we will fight to ensure your legal rights are upheld. Please call (855) 774-5400 or click the button below to discuss your case with an attorney today!
Arizona Misdemeanor DUI Penalties
Driving under the influence also relates to drugs, so if a law enforcement official suspects you have taken a chemical substance that impairs your judgment while operating a vehicle, you can also be arrested for DUI.
MISDEMEANOR DUI CHARGES & CONSEQUENCES
Being convicted of DUI in Arizona can have serious consequences. The jail sentences, fines, and other punishments increase with subsequent convictions. If you are a minor and are caught driving with any alcohol in your system, you can be arrested for DUI as well.
- Standard DUI: This is if your BAC is 0.08 percent to 0.149 percent and carries a mandatory 10-day jail sentence and 90-day driver’s license suspension. You will be ordered to attend DUI classes, have an ignition interlock device attached to your vehicle for 12 months, and pay fines as high as $1,500.
- Extreme DUI: This is if your BAC is 0.15 percent to 0.199 percent. An extreme DUI conviction typically results in a 30-day jail sentence, fines of up to $2,700, and all the aforementioned DUI penalties.
- Super extreme DUI: This is a relatively new DUI classification and is utilized when your BAC is 0.2 percent and above. You will likely be given a minimum of 45 days in jail, have an ignition interlock device attached for 18 months, be hit with fines amounting to as much as $3,200, and also suffer the other DUI penalties mentioned above.
FLAGSTAFF DUI DEFENSE LAW FIRM
A DUI conviction, even as a misdemeanor, can have larger ramifications on your life. We have heard of people being fired from their jobs because of a DUI conviction, and it also leaves a permanent stain on your record. At the Law Offices of Gonzales & Poirier, we use our vast knowledge in the field of Arizona DUI laws to create outstanding defenses for our clients. There are a number of ways to fight DUI charges:
- Defective testing equipment: If the equipment used to test you does not have the correct certification, we will uncover the truth.
- Lack of probable cause: In the state of Arizona, police officers cannot stop your vehicle without probable cause.
- Not actively operating the vehicle: You cannot be convicted of DUI if you are only sitting in the vehicle and not driving it.
- Violation of rights: You should immediately request to speak to your attorney if you are arrested for DUI. Any delay could be perceived as a violation of your civil rights and cause the case to be thrown out.
ATTORNEY CONTACT DETAILS
The Law Offices of Gonzales & Poirier, PLLC understands that when it comes to being charged with a DUI there is a lot at stake. You could lose your job, go to jail, and end up paying thousands of dollars in fines and fees. We also know that when you retain our services it becomes our job to aggressively fight for your rights and work with the state on getting your charges reduces or dismissed altogether. Do not attempt to fight your DUI charge on your own. Please pick up the phone and call (855) 774-5400 or click here to request a no-obligation consultation now.